Commission Announces Nine Nominees for Iowa Supreme Court

After conducting 60 interviews this week, the Iowa Judicial Nominating Commission announced the nine finalists for the Iowa Supreme Court. The slate of nominees will be sent to Governor Branstad, who will select three people to sit on the Iowa Supreme Court. The nominees are:

Robert James Blink, West Des Moines, Age 60
District Judge (appointed 1995)—Fifth Judicial District
J.D., 1975, Drake University

Arthur E. Gamble, Clive, Age 58
District Judge (appointed 1983), Chief Judge (appointed 1995)—Fifth Judicial District
J.D., 1978, University of Iowa

John C. Gray, Sioux City, Age 56
Attorney—Heidman Law Firm
J.D., 1981, University of Iowa

Steven Verne Lawyer, New Virginia, Age 45
Attorney—Law Firm of Steven V. Lawyer & Associates, PLC
J.D., 1991, Drake University

Edward M. Mansfield, Des Moines, Age 53
Iowa Court of Appeals Judge (appointed 2009)
J.D., 1982, Yale

Michael R. Mullins, Washington, Age 58
District Judge (appointed 2002)—Eighth Judicial District
J.D., 1982, Drake University

Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Grinnell, Age 37
Professor of Law, University of Iowa
J.D., 1997, University of Michigan

Thomas Dana Waterman, Pleasant Valley, Age 51
Attorney—Lane & Waterman L.L.P.
J.D., 1984, University of Iowa

Governor Branstad will have 30 days to make his appointments. Application materials, including a summary resume, completed questionnaire, and writing samples of each of the candidates are posted on the Judicial Branch website. Video of the interviews is also available.

Read More About Commission Announces Nine Nominees For Iowa Supreme Court...

Categories: General