Helping People and Families Recover from Personal Injury and Wrongful Death

What are the Iowa drunk driving laws and penalties?

The drunk driving laws and penalties that affect Iowa motorists are similar to other states. It is considered a crime when a driver age 21 or over tests at a 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC) level. Drivers who are under 21 are considered drunk if their BAC is 0.02 or more, and commercial truck drivers are considered legally drunk if their BAC is 0.04 or higher.

There are different penalties for drunk drivers in Iowa depending on if it is the driver's first offense or if the driver is a second- or third-time offender. Some Iowa drunk driving penalties include:

First Offense:

  • Fines of up to $1,250
  • Prison term between 48 hours and one year
  • Driver's license revocation from 180 days up to one year

Second Offense:

  • Fines of $1,875 to $6,250
  • Prison term between seven days and two years
  • Driver's license revocation for up to two years

Third Offense or More:

  • Fines can be between $3,225 to $9,375 for repeat offenders.
  • Prison term can be up to five years.
  • Driver's license can be revoked for up to six years.

If you or a family member has been injured in a Cedar Rapids car accident caused by a drunk driver, you need to have a lawyer on your side who can hold that negligent driver accountable for their actions. Call the Law Offices of Brady Preston Gronlund today to schedule a free legal evaluation at (319) 866-9277.

Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.