I was hit by a drunk driver in Cedar Rapids, and I want to make sure he gets punished. What are the normal fines and charges for DUIs?
Anytime a driver is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Iowa, there are penalties and fines in place. Punishment includes steep fees, jail time, driver's license revocation or temporary suspension, and in some cases the installation of an ignition interlock device. The fees can range up to $1,250, plus the driver's auto insurance rates will increase.
The drunk driver who hit you will have to live with a DUI conviction on his driving record, and may face a minimum of 48 hours in jail. His driver's license will most likely be revoked for 180 days or be given a temporary suspension. In addition, he will be required to complete courses regarding substance abuse.
If you were injured in an Iowa drunk driving crash, you need to make sure your financial needs are met. Talk with an experienced Iowa personal injury attorney to find out how a lawyer can help you get just compensation. An attorney will be able to make sure the driver who hit you is being charged to the fullest degree, and will look out for your best interest. Call a Cedar Rapids personal injury lawyer at Brady Preston Gronlund for legal advice today at (319) 866-9277.