Helping People and Families Recover from Personal Injury and Wrongful Death

Don’t Get Behind the Wheel – It’s Not Worth It

Every year during this season, we hear of all the terrible drunk driving accidents that occur between the Christmas and New Year's holiday period. The sad fact is that these accidents could have been prevented if people would not have gotten behind the wheel after drinking. Do not become a statistic. You may be injured or may even kill someone else if you drive while intoxicated (DUI) in Iowa.

Not only could other people's lives be affected, but if you drink and drive in Iowa, your life could be greatly affected as well. What if you are involved in a car crash? What if you kill someone? You could get arrested, face jail time, pay substantial fees and will have to live with the fact that you killed an innocent person the rest of your life.

Some of the fees and penalties of DUI and OWI (operating while intoxicated) in Iowa for a first DUI/OWI conviction include:

  • Jail time (a minimum of 48 hours, up to one year)

  • Fees (fines could range from $625 to $1,250)

  • Driver's License Revocation (180 days)

  • Restricted Driver's License (if no revocations in the last year and Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is below .10)

  • Ignition Interlock Device (if BAC is above .10)

It is illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol while having a BAC of .08 or more. In fact, it is illegal to operate a vehicle while intoxicated per Iowa law whether you are under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, drug or a combination of the two. If a driver has a BAC higher than .10, he or she will have to get an ignition interlock device installed on their car. If a crash resulted from driving while intoxicated, an interlock device must be installed as well. And, if someone had a BAC above .15, they will not get a restricted driver's license for 30 days.

If you can't drive to work, your life could be negatively affected and you could suffer severe consequences. When you think about getting behind the wheel even if you are just buzzed, think again. It's not worth it. Your driver's license may not be reinstated until you:

  • Pay the fine ($200)

  • Complete a substance abuse evaluation and treatment (present proof)

  • Complete a course for drinking drivers (present proof)

  • Comply with the financial responsibility law

Impaired driving is a crime and is one of the deadliest types of crimes in Iowa. Think twice before driving drunk, as you may have two prices to pay - the price of a life and the monetary price of the fine.

If you or someone you love has been in a car crash in Cedar Rapids or anywhere in Iowa caused by an impaired driver, you should not have to pay for their negligent decisions. You need to contact an attorney who understands the emotional and physical effects that you suffered following a drunk driving accident in Iowa. Call the law office of Brady Preston Gronlund today and speak with a knowledgeable Cedar Rapids personal injury attorney at (319) 866-9277.

Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.